top of page

Our Team

Hi there! I am Vanessa, the visionary behind “The Makery”.

 

I grew up in the Yukon but relocated to Alberta many years ago. I have two boys that are currently 21 and 9 years old. My partner in crime is Jason - he supports me immensely in my ventures and currently works alongside me each day. I have a honours diploma in Early Childhood Development, another in Montessori for 3-6 and a certificate in Applied Positive Psychology. I am dedicated to professional development and am pretty much devouring courses and books non stop during my free time.

 

I have worked with children in varying capacities for the past 22 years. About half of this time has been spent in leadership roles. For the past nine years, I have developed and ran Mindful Moments, which is a high quality child care program and preschool in Sherwood Park. Over the past nine years we went from having one staff member, to having over twenty! I feel incredibly blessed that I get to be part of the most important part of a humans life - their childhood.

 

For several years now, I have dreamed of a separate offering that gives children access to a diverse set of resources and experiences they may not find in other environments. A place where their imagination can soar! A place where parents can connect with others and build community. A place that inspires growth and connection within families. A stimulating environment where the magic of play is realized by all ages!

 

So here I am, taking a leap of faith toward another dream that has been years in the making. It’s going to be magical, and I look forward to sharing it with you!

 

See you soon!

Vanessa - Owner of The Makery

Meet the Rest of Our Team

Our team of Play Ambassadors are passionate and dedicated to providing high quality experiences for all visitors.

Jason - Co - Owner of The Makery

Jason

Hello, I am Jason, Husband to Vanessa and co-owner of The Makery. I am a Level Two Early Childhood Educator.


Many years ago I wanted to pursue a career in a field that would give back to the community. I was inspired to be a paramedic, but shelved the idea after interviewing someone in the field and realizing that I would be unable to witness a child in distress. My path veered into another passion, IT, until I met Vanessa.

 

Vanessa introduced me to working with children. I knew instantly that this field was the connection to the community I was looking for many years ago. My passion grew deeper as I achieved my Level One, developed relationships with children & their families, and witness the children explore. I continued to grow my knowledge by obtaining my Level Two, while running our day home and assisting at Mindful Moments.

 

Over the years I have had the honour of meeting so many incredible families. I look forward to discovering the worlds of each child that attends our programs, building relationships with their families, and working together to bring out the brilliance that is the mind of a child.

Sylvie

Sylvie

I am a Mother of two daughters and an active puppy that keeps me entertained and busy. I enjoy dancing, cooking, playing pool, gardening and perfecting my golf game in my spare time.

 

I had the pleasure of running my own day home when my girls were younger. I now enjoy working alongside Vanessa & Jason and assist at both The Makery and Mindful Moments. 

IMG_2995.jpeg

Maddie

Hi! My name is Maddie, and I am so happy to be part of the Makery team! 

I was born and raised in Lethbridge, but have lived in Edmonton for almost 10 years now. I knew I loved working with children from a very early age, so I volunteered at summer camps, and did nanny work every chance I got. Once I realized this was what I really loved doing, I started working at a Daycare Center while obtaining my Level 1 in Early Childhood Education. I continued working in daycares until I found the Makery!

My favourite part of working at the Makery so far has been getting to see the excitement and curiosity every child comes in with. Getting to foster and support their learning, while giving them the tools they need to explore and get messy, makes my day! 

In my spare time you can find me reading, baking, playing guitar, or spending time with family. I also have 2 very active dogs that keep me on my toes!

bottom of page